Chicks and Lawn

So the whole “permaculture” type lawn seed mix has had me thinking.  I called a local feed store and talked to someone there about making me a custom mix.  I figured it would be easier to talk about it in person so I decided I would make it over there this weekend. While I was on the phone with them I figured I would ask if they were selling chicks.  They were, and with no minimums on number or breeds.  Yahtzee!

Homestead Boy #2 and I headed over there Saturday morning as soon as they opened at 8:30.  We were the second ones there, and we would have been first if we hadn’t stopped for hot chocolate, :).  I showed the gentleman the list of seeds I was interested in having mixed up.  He said they had about half of them, the other half could be ordered.  He is going to call their supplier and see what the cost would be to have the seed mix made up.  The mix will include yarrow, dutch clover, chamomile, english daisies, perennial rye, baby blue eyes, alfalfa, sweet alyssum, trefoil, little blue stem, and fescue.  Anything that I am missing, or that I should remove?

On to the chickens.  I was so happy to find a place where I didn’t have to worry about a minimum order, restricting breeds, etc.  Better yet, they pick them up from the post office, sort them, and get some food and water in them before we need to pick them up.  I ordered some buff orpington pullets and roosters, black australorp pullets, silver laced wyandotte pullets, araucauna pullets, and speckled sussex pullets.  A few of each.  I am excited to increase the flock size.  Now I need to get to work on the new coop.

This entry was posted in building, Chickens, DIY, Family, Farming, homesteading, kids, Preparation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chicks and Lawn

  1. Aggie says:

    Your mix sounds really cool. Please keep us posted. Have you checked the soil survey for your area? There should be a section that tells what your native grass mix is. http://websoilsurvey.sc.egov.usda.gov/App/HomePage.htm

  2. wbduvall says:

    Homestead Dad,
    Thanks for finding my blog! Please let me know if it would be possible for me to also get a bag of your custom seed mix from your store! Are you going to add the red clover?
    -Will

Leave a comment