Powered Up, Kind Of

In the previous post I mentioned that one of my projects had been wiring up an outlet for the chicken coop that can be plugged into an extension cord.  I finally got it installed.

First I drilled a hole slightly larger than the diameter of the wire.  I then positioned the outlet box inside and passed the wire through the hole.  The next step was to finish the connections on the plug side, and viola we were ready for power.

img_7616 img_7614 img_7615

This is nice because now I can keep the water bucket plugged in over night.  Previously I had to unplug it in order to close the door which allowed the water to freeze overnight.  I may also add a light in the coop but I haven’t decided on that yet.

This entry was posted in building, Chickens, DIY, homesteading, Preparation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Powered Up, Kind Of

  1. MansWhirld says:

    Never a shortage of things to do on the farm…and we’re not even living on ours yet hahaha….but that will change in just 2 WEEKS!

Leave a comment